Tivo is Starting to Interest me


Tivo is a DVR (digital video recorder) that allows you to record your favorite TV shows, kinda like a VCR only you don’t store the episodes on tapes, you store them on a hard-drive located in your Tivo console. Tivo, much like an Apple TV, allows the user to download/buy movies from the internet. The only difference is that on a Tivo you download them from Amazon and on the Apple TV you download them from iTunes. Another feature of Tivo is that you can pause, replay or rewind live TV, so if you missed the first goal of a hockey game you can rewind the game and view the goal.

Tivo comes with an 80GB hard-drive which equates to about 60 hours of television. You can, however, purchase an external hard-drive to augment the storage capabilities.

My friend has a Tivo and after watching him use it for about 10 minutes, I realized that the User Interface was absolutely gorgeous. It seems so easy to use that just about anyone could use it. I don’t have a DVR console of any type in my house because I have never found it necessary. I have never, and probably will never find a TV show that I absolutely have to watch. I’m more dependent on computers that I am on TVs. However, just by seeing my friend use his, I have this nagging urge to buy one. Tivo is kinda expensive for what it does though. The console itself costs $300 USD plus a subscription of $12.50 a month. There is another plan that costs $400 for a lifetime subscription. If I were to purchase a Tivo, I would probably buy the lifetime subscription because I can’t stand monthly bills.

If you have a Tivo, like the idea of DVR or own an other type of DVR console, leave me a comment or e-mail me at robertdalesio@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

