Building Computers

To most people, purchasing fairly expensive computer parts and them assembling them make them cringe. In my case, this is not what happens. I’ve always wanted to make a computer. The fact that I could take hardware that, on it’s own is completely useless, and make something really powerful really got me excited. But wanting to build a computer doesn’t mean you get to build a computer. Unfortunately, the extra money for me to build a computer just wasn’t there for me. In 2006, when I finally had enough money, I decided to build a desktop computer that would be great for gaming (I was into that kinda stuff 2 years ago), and great for the whole family to use. There was a lot of stuff I had to decide like: which operating system I was going to use, which motherboard to use, etc. During this post, I will give you the specifications of my desktop and then I will give you a how-to on building a budget gaming PC. Please note that when I assembled these parts, they were fairly high end; now, not so much. Also, the prices of all the parts for my PC are the prices from when I bought them.

My specs:
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo running at 2.1GHz. It was really fast in 2006, now it seems to be lagging behind other PCs a little bit. ($350) 

Motherboard: P5NSLI series. It is really great. There is still a lot of space for upgrades, which is nice. ($400)
Graphics Card: nVidia 7600 GS. I don’t really play many games but it lets me run a 20″ monitor. That is all I need. ($375)
RAM: 2 years ago, 1GB of RAM was enough so that is what I got. A couple of months ago, I began to think that my computer was running to slow; so I upgraded to 2GB of RAM. This has improved performance immensely. ($180)
Sound Card: My CPU uses the integrated sound of the motherboard. No extra add-ons. (I assumed it was an area where I could save a few bucks.)
Hard Drive: When I was building the computer, I thought that anything over 100GB was enough so I went with a 150GB Western Digital hard-drive running at 7200rpm. The speed of the hard-drive is plenty, however, the 150GB are running out fast. ($200)
Optical Drive: My optical drive doesn’t exist anymore, it is some sort of LG. It burns DVDs at about 12X and CDs at up to 32X. ($175)
Operating System: Windows XP Pro. Bootleg Edition. ($0)
In the end, my PC came out to about $1680. I definitely thought it was worth the money back then. Nowadays, a computer with these specs would cost around $650. The thought of this saddens me.
I have searched the ‘net for some great gaming parts and I will now give you what I believe is
the best budget gaming PC ever. Here it goes:
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo running at 2.4GHz. ($310)
Graphics Card: nVidia 8800 GTS. ($415)
Motherboard: Asus P5N32-E. ($300)
RAM: 3GB of DDR2 800 RAM. ($180)
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy 4. ($75)
Hard Drive: WD1500ADFD with 150GB capacity running at 10,00rpm. ($225)
Optical Drive: double-layer Samsung SH-S182D. ($35)
Case: Apevia Aspire. ($90)
Operating System: Windows XP Pro Bootleg Edition. ($0)
The total price of this gaming PC is $1630. In my opinion, that is a great price for what you’re getting. This is a solid PC that will last you a good 3 to 4 years. 
If you have built a computer or if you want to build a computer, leave a comment, or e-mail me at robertdalesio@gmail.com
Leave a Reply

