Do You Believe in the Death Penalty

I’m not writing this post to debate the issue itself, or whether or not you believe. This post is geared towards people who DO believe in it already, for convicted murderers.

If you believe in the death penalty is appropriate for people who kill others, how do you feel about child rapists? In a recent CNN article, it is reported that:
The U.S. Supreme Court ruled 5-4 Wednesday that child rapists cannot be executed, concluding capital punishment can be applied only against murderers.
The ruling stemmed from the case of Patrick Kennedy, who appealed the 2003 death sentence he received in Louisiana after being convicted of raping his 8-year-old stepdaughter.
Justice Anthony Kennedy wrote in majority opinion that execution in this case would violate the Eighth Amendment’s prohibition against cruel and unusual punishment, citing “evolving standards of decency” in the United States.
I beg to differ. Cruel and unusual punishment? How much more cruel and unusual does it get than a grown man brutally raping his 8-year-old stepdaughter… or ANY child, for that matter?
I never used to believe in the death penalty. In elementary school, I was against it. One time, I was forced to debate FOR it, for a fair amount of my grade. I stood my ground, and refused to do so. The teacher ended up allowing me to change my debate, contrary to what she had said in the beginning. She stated that she was proud of me standing up for what I believed in, despite facing a possible failing grade.
That changed in my first year of high school when we read about Timothy Buss who murdered Christopher Meyer.. Two years after Timothy Buss was released from jail, he kidnapped, sexually mutilated and stabbed 9-year-old Christopher more than 50 times, then buried him in a shallow grave in the state park. When I found out that he had been sentenced to die by lethal injection, I felt so happy that I almost couldn’t contain myself.
So how does this connect to what’s happening with this new monster? I still believe that the death penalty is the only option for some of these people… especially those who have committed terrible crimes against children.
I know I will receive flames from a lot of people for this post. However, we all know that things that happen to us (directly or indirectly) in our lives shape our future selves and beliefs. It’s ok if you disagree with me, it’s ok if you think I am wrong. I ask, however, that you disagree in an acceptable manner. Any comments that are offensive or inflammatory will be deleted. Debate… don’t attack. 

Leave a Reply

